LO: Loan Originator – Chapter 494, Florida Statutes: The license is required for an individual who, directly or indirectly, solicits or offers to solicit a mortgage loan , accepts or offers to accept an application for a mortgage loan, negotiates or offers to negotiate the terms or conditions of a new or existing mortgage loan on behalf of a borrower or lender, or negotiates or offers to negotiate the sale of an existing mortgage loan to a non-institutional investor for compensation or gain. The term includes an individual who is required to be licensed as a loan originator under the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.
The term does not include an employee of a mortgage broker or mortgage lender whose duties are limited to physically handling a completed application form or transmitting a completed application form to a lender on behalf of a prospective borrower.
Application Requirements and License Maintenance
All mortgage license applications, amendments and renewal filings must now be filed through Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS).
Renewal fillings begin annually on November 1 and end at midnight on December 31st.
Mortgage Loan Originator’s (MLO)’s must submit a renewal request through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS) by December 31. Continuing Education must be credited in the NMLS prior to submitting your renewal application. Florida does not accept late renewal requests submitted through NMLS after December 31. Licenses permanently expire if a renewal request is not received by December 31.
* Chapter 494, Florida Statutes, does not allow for reinstatement of the license by submitting a late renewal through the NMLS. If the request to renew is submitted after 12/31, the company license and branch license will expire as of 12/31 and they are required to submit a new license request in the NMLS. All fees collected through NMLS are NON-REFUNDABLE.
$150 Florida renewal fee
$36.25 Federal criminal background check
$30 NMLS processing fee
$20 Florida guaranty fund fee
$15 Credit report fee
$6 Florida Department of Law Enforcement retained fingerprint fee
Unless an MLO completed the pre-licensing education in the current year, the licensee must be credited by an NMLS approved Continuing Education (CE) provider with completing 8 hours of CE prior to being able to apply for renewal through the NMLS.