MB & MBB: Mortgage Broker and Branches – Chapter 494, Florida Statutes: The license is required for an entity conducting loan originator activities through one or more licensed loan originators employed by the mortgage broker or as independent contractors to the mortgage broker.
Mortgage Broker Branch: This license is required for mortgage broker licensees who conduct business at locations other than their principal place of business:
The address of which appears on business cards, stationery, or advertising used by the licensee in connection with business conducted under this chapter;
At which the licensee's name, advertising or promotional materials, or signage suggests that mortgage loans are originated or negotiated.
At which mortgage loans are originated or negotiated by a licensee.
Application Requirements and License Maintenance
All mortgage license applications, amendments and renewal filings must now be filed through Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS).
Click here for the Mortgage Broker License Application Checklist
Uniform Mortgage Lender/Mortgage Broker Form (MU1) form filed through NMLS
Statutorily required application fee and guaranty fund fee
FBI criminal history background check results (each control persons)
State criminal history background check results (each control persons)
Credit report (control persons)
Principal loan originator
*A control person that holds an active loan originator license in Florida is exempt from the FBI & State criminal background check and credit report requirement as part of the mortgage broker application requirements for this license.
Mortgage Broker Application Fees
$425 Florida application fee
$100 Florida guaranty fund fee
$100 NMLS processing fee
$43.25 Federal & State criminal background check (Florida) to be paid to live scan vendor cost per control person
$15 Credit report fee cost per control person
*All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE
Click here for detailed Mortgage Broker License Renewal Information
OFR-494-09 - Mortgage Brokerage Deposit Account Form
Renewal fillings begin annually on November 1st and end at midnight on December 31st.
Licensees must submit their renewal request through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS) by December 31. Florida does not accept late renewal requests submitted through NMLS after December 31. Licenses permanently expire if a renewal request is not received by December 31.
* Chapter 494, Florida Statutes, does not allow for reinstatement of the license by submitting a late renewal through the NMLS. If the request to renew is submitted after 12/31, the company license and branch license will expire as of 12/31 and they are required to submit a new license request in the NMLS. All fees collected through NMLS are NON-REFUNDABLE.
Mortgage Broker Renewal Fees
$575 + $15 per Control Person + $245 per Branch Location Total