Florida Office of Financial Regulation Florida OFR Home Page

About OFR

Key Function: provides regulatory oversight for Florida’s financial services providers.

Mission: to protect the citizens of Florida, promote a safe and sound financial marketplace, and contribute to the growth of Florida’s economy with smart, efficient and effective regulation of the financial services industry.

History: the OFR was created in 2003 by section 20.121(3), Florida Statutes, from cabinet reorganization legislation. The OFR is preceded by the former Comptroller’s Office dating to the mid-1800s.

Leadership: the OFR reports to the Financial Services Commission, which is comprised of Florida’s cabinet. The office is headed by a commissioner appointed by the Commission. The Commission has final rule approval, but all regulatory decisions are vested with OFR.

State of Florida organizational chart

Budget: the OFR is self-supporting in that all of its operating revenues come from the organizations and individuals it regulates.

Office Locations: Tallahassee, Orlando, West Palm Beach, Miami and Tampa.

Organization: the OFR has three Divisions and one Bureau. The programs oversee and regulate a wide range of financial enterprises and individuals, such as state-chartered banks, credit unions, mortgage loan originators, securities industry participants, consumer finance companies, money transmitters, foreign currency exchangers and payday lenders.

OFR Fast Facts e-booklet

Meet the Commissioner

Office Organizational Chart

Executive Direction
Division of Financial Institutions
Division of Consumer Finance
Division of Securities
Bureau of Financial Investigations

Explore career opportunities with the OFR.

Request a speaker from the OFR.